Little Plucky.

If you use artificial lures to catch any predator this is the forum for you
Rosemary
Chub
Chub

Little Plucky.

Post by Rosemary »

Many years ago I bought a plug called a Plucky. It appealed to me because it was pretty,I bought it for no other reason. Eventually I tried it and it was by far the most successful lure I have ever used. Eventually it went the same way that all lures go, stuck on a submerged log. I was never able to find another one.
Just old and knackered.
D10bore
Roach
Roach

Re: Little Plucky.

Post by D10bore »

I’m not a expert but using braid 60 lb is supposed to allow you to bend the hooks out of any snags and give you a good chance of getting lures back just a thought mike
alan behenna
Barbel
Barbel

Post by alan behenna »

:grin:

I recall one on Flea-bay very recently.......unused I think........ French origin with detaching belly double.............must be as old as Al'

(No one was using 60lbs braid for "spinning" in those days).

:thumbs:
D10bore
Roach
Roach

Post by D10bore »

I ment if using now not then my mistake mike
Jake Hamilton
Chub
Chub

Post by Jake Hamilton »

The Plucky was, largely, the forerunner to the current Sosy swimbaits. Link here:

http://www.sovereignsuperbaits.co.uk/Lu ... /sosy.html
JAKE
"It's not the years, honey....it's the mileage"
Rosemary
Chub
Chub

Post by Rosemary »

Thanks for replies. Back in the 50s a device was sold that supposed to retrieve stuck lures. It resembled a heavy key ring to which one tied a length of strong string.. So we have a lure stuck on the bottom, we thread the key ring thingy on our line and proceed to jiggle it down the line to the lure and try to snag a hook. This rarely happens but it whiles away half an hour or so.. Eventually we break the line and the 'lure retriever' then lies at the bottom of the basket never to be used again.