Quick Clip

If you use artificial lures to catch any predator this is the forum for you
Sparks73
Stickleback
Stickleback

Quick Clip

Post by Sparks73 »

I'm new to this style of fishing, I really enjoy the mobile appraoch, when I go carping I take everything bar the kitchen sink! Could someone recommend a quick clip as I am struggling with the fittley little push clips! I am fishing small lures upto 15g. :wave:
Mike J
Ferox Trout
Ferox Trout

Re: Quick Clip

Post by Mike J »

Ive used the smaller size Bill Norman Speed aka quick Clips for Large Mouth Bass, a species which jump around quite a bit!
Same brand in the larger size for UK Bass for shore luring, I use nothing else.
Never had a failure, not once.

Would not use them for Pike though, simply because you just never know whats coming along next?

Mustad Stay-lock or 8mm split ring for me.
'No Man Ever Fishes The Same River Twice, .... For It Is Not The Same River, .... And He Is Not The Same Man' Heraclitus of Ephesus
Chris b
Jack Pike
Jack Pike

Post by Chris b »

Stringease Stay-loks in what ever size you think is best for the job.
If poss try avoid the mustad branded ones they aint the same as the origs.
Mark Phillips
Zander
Zander

Post by Mark Phillips »

I would strongly avoid most brands of clips, especially any sold by UK tackle companies. They'll mainly be cheap crap, bought in bulk from China. Best bet is to buy a few hundred of the sizes you want from the States, then you're sorted for life. Stayloks are what I'd recommend for most situations, but in the smaller sizes start to get a bit fiddly. Rosco Duo Lock Snaps in the two smallest sizes are IMO better for smaller lures and have served me well over the years. I prefer the plain ones to the black coated. I can't recall ever having one fail me, same goes for Stayloks in the larger sizes.
Piking Plonker
John Milford
Ferox Trout
Ferox Trout

Post by John Milford »