Terrova rf error

For all anglers who like to go afloat to catch their fish
Post Reply
Danoutdoors
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Mar 26 2016 09:40

Terrova rf error

Post by Danoutdoors » Thu Sep 13 2018 08:12

Any one experienced this error before, first time out testing the motor and cant get it to work, did a bit of googling and it looks like it might be a proper problem, anyone got any ideas I would be super greatfull / I’ll get the drinks in 🤣
5FB606D8-C461-4F1F-AB19-3A94767E3A7D.jpeg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Carlperkins
Brigadier
Brigadier
Posts: 8247
Joined: Sat Aug 27 2011 05:00
Location: coventry

Re: Terrova rf error

Post by Carlperkins » Thu Sep 13 2018 09:00

Have you tried Minn Kota direct
They do answer but take into account the time difference
REMEMBER THAT YOU ARE AN ENGLISHMAN, AND HAVE CONSEQUENTLY WON FIRST IN THE LOTTERY OF LIFE

Cecil Rhodes

Danoutdoors
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Mar 26 2016 09:40

Re: Terrova rf error

Post by Danoutdoors » Thu Sep 13 2018 09:18

Not tried but will get on to them tonight, bit gutted but will still enjoy the day, thanks!

Will Smith
Major
Major
Posts: 1392
Joined: Sun Aug 28 2011 05:00
Location: Snods Edge, Northumberland

Re: Terrova rf error

Post by Will Smith » Thu Sep 13 2018 10:26

Sorry Dan, new one on me, thankfully.
Hope that you can get it sorted quickly and easily.

Will.

User avatar
Alan_dalton
Major
Major
Posts: 1938
Joined: Sat Aug 27 2011 05:00

Re: Terrova rf error

Post by Alan_dalton » Thu Sep 13 2018 15:15

Good luck, I had different intermittent fault on my...took over a year to sort it. In the end I eventually got sent a new one

Danoutdoors
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Mar 26 2016 09:40

Re: Terrova rf error

Post by Danoutdoors » Thu Sep 13 2018 19:19

Oh jeezus hope it doesn’t go that way, someone posted a account identical to mine on the net and it was the handset, unsure if to contact the people I bought it from or minn Kota themselves at the moment.. we shall see how it goes

Danoutdoors
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Mar 26 2016 09:40

Re: Terrova rf error

Post by Danoutdoors » Thu Sep 13 2018 20:03

I’ve had a live chat with minn Kota, It’s the handset apparently, need to contact the distributor and arrange for a replacement, fingers crossed it’s resolved quickly

User avatar
Ian Crook
Colonel
Colonel
Posts: 4071
Joined: Wed Nov 02 2011 05:00
Location: Berkshire via Lancashire
Contact:

Re: Terrova rf error

Post by Ian Crook » Sat Sep 15 2018 09:21

UK supplier?

Danoutdoors
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Mar 26 2016 09:40

Re: Terrova rf error

Post by Danoutdoors » Sat Sep 15 2018 10:29

Ian Crook wrote:
UK supplier?
No I got it in from France Ian

User avatar
andrew_nagel
Colonel
Colonel
Posts: 3506
Joined: Mon Aug 29 2011 05:00

Re: Terrova rf error

Post by andrew_nagel » Sat Sep 15 2018 11:27

Dan, I'm assuming RF stands for Radio Frequency. I have an older version Terrova with the first generation ipilot. On mine the handset has several frequency settings so that boats can run on different frequencies to avoid cross-controlling each others motors. Have you tried cycling through the frequencies as it might just be that the motor and handset are not frequency aligned.

Danoutdoors
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Mar 26 2016 09:40

Re: Terrova rf error

Post by Danoutdoors » Sat Sep 15 2018 12:21

andrew_nagel wrote:
Dan, I'm assuming RF stands for Radio Frequency. I have an older version Terrova with the first generation ipilot. On mine the handset has several frequency settings so that boats can run on different frequencies to avoid cross-controlling each others motors. Have you tried cycling through the frequencies as it might just be that the motor and handset are not frequency aligned.
Like radio gear for model aircraft type thing, how would I do that Andrew? It won’t let me explore the menu etc before it switches off or is it something manual internally?
I have it working via my phone and blue tooth at the moment so all is not completely lost

User avatar
andrew_nagel
Colonel
Colonel
Posts: 3506
Joined: Mon Aug 29 2011 05:00

Re: Terrova rf error

Post by andrew_nagel » Sat Sep 15 2018 12:30

I can't remember off the top of my head. I could also be mixing it up with the co-pilot remote I had before getting the ipilot??? I'm sure a look in the manual or a google around will shed some light.

Post Reply