How to set depth for a suspend dead bait

If you're a newcomer to Pike & Predator fishing and need advice, you can ask in here
Chrisyw1987
Stickleback
Stickleback

How to set depth for a suspend dead bait

Post by Chrisyw1987 »

Hi I'm a novice at piking caught a few on popped up deads bit with family life means I can only get a few hour sessions in.

So I want to try my hand at suspended baits a feet or 2 of the bottom. I know how to set up rig etc.

I re searched my local water and the swim I'm going to target has a max depth of 11m. Am I right in thinking the distance from bait to float stop should be 9m??
cookiesdaughtersdad
Ferox Trout
Ferox Trout

Re: How to set depth for a suspend dead bait

Post by cookiesdaughtersdad »

Depends on how far you are casting and whats on the bottom but generally in water that deep I would not fish a suspended dead bait unless you think fishing off bottom is an advantage. In water that deep the pike may be found well off bottom so a suspended deadbait set at say 5m may well get action, you can also drift one about. If you wish to fish closer to the bottom a sunk float paternoster could be a good way to go fished with a week link.

Cheers, Alan
"Luck is what happens when preparation meets opportunity" Seneca, some Roman chap.
JoeNickel
Chub
Chub

Post by JoeNickel »

Are you mixing up meters and feet in your post?

You say you want to fish 2ft off the bottom, so should you set the stop knot 2m underdepth...?

Big difference between fishing in 11ft or 11m.
The dildo of consequences rarely arrives lubed
OLDESOX
Barbel
Barbel

Post by OLDESOX »

ZIG RIG??? in other words fish a running lead rig and a suspended bouyant bait. once cast run up to the rquired depth. no float etc
ensure a long enough up trace!!!
retired so time to smell the roses.
Steve Dennington
Zander
Zander

Post by Steve Dennington »

OLDESOX wrote: Mon Jul 17 2023 17:41 -