Landing net - Which type is best?

If you're a newcomer to Pike & Predator fishing and need advice, you can ask in here
Frenchieboy
Roach
Roach

Landing net - Which type is best?

Post by Frenchieboy »

I have a landing net but I am about to buy a new larger one that is more suited for (Hopefully) larger pike.
The problem I have been having is having pike thrashing about when they first go into the net for landing and the barbs of the treble hooks getting tangled in the mesh. This creates a problem for me getting the hooks out of the net without damaging the net. As I am about to buy a new (Either 36 inch or 42 inch) landing net would I be better buying a larger meshed net that is non rubberised to minimize the problem of getting tangled treble hooks out from the net please?
I would welcome your thoughts and advice on the subject of which type of landing net id most suitable for landing very active.
Please bare in mind that I am asking the more experienced amongst you as I am a novice to pike fishing.

Edit: Just a thought - Would it make life easier if I were to de-barb my hooks and if so would it mean the chance of loosing fish through them throwing the hooks? Any thoughts please?
paintman
Perch
Perch

Re: Landing net - Which type is best?

Post by paintman »

Frenchieboy wrote: Wed Oct 18 2023 19:32 -
Edit: Just a thought - Would it make life easier if I were to de-barb my hooks and if so would it mean the chance of loosing fish through them throwing the hooks? Any thoughts please?
Yes it would. Also makes unhooking fish easier.
If using trebles for deads you can buy them with just one barb which is the one that holds the bait.
Keep tension on & no reason why a properly hooked fish would come off.
I usually fish barbless - hooks either bought as such or remove/flatten the barb - & can't say I've noticed a problem.